Mizuna Salad with Black Cherry & Pear Tomatoes

Who doesn’t love summer and the abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables? Nowadays, I don’t mind the heat anymore because there are more cold winter months to spend inside the house. Finally, the long awaited summer heat is here.

I spent long hours during those cold winter days planning and dreaming about our vegetable garden for this year. And spent hours choosing what seeds to grow without breaking the bank. Oh trust me, it could get a little pricey. This year, we’re trying to grow Roma tomatoes, big beefsteak, cherry, black cherry and pear both outdoors and in a growing tent inside our house. My husband and I were trying to compete each other and see who’s going to get a ripe tomato first. And of course, I lost. We also have Brazilian starfish pepper – which is new to us. Poblano and Pepperoncini peppers are great addition to our regular every year. Did I mention that my son loves pickles and melons? Yep. Growing lot of those this year and fingers crossed. Hopefully we could get a good harvest to share and preserve.

Well, anyways. That’s what was going on and lots of yard work to do. The reason I haven’t made a single post for months now.

I ordered bunch of Asian greens to grow from seeds too like Malabar spinach, mizuna, mustard greens etc. On top of our collards, kale, spinach, arugula, lettuces. So yeah. I harvest every day and make something new every day from our garden.

Today, I have a bunch of mizuna to harvest and I still have carrot tops leftover and made a miso-mango and ginger vinaigrette for lunch.


If mizuna and carrot tops are not available, use any of your favorite salad mix or lettuce. I used red bulgur wheat to make it hearty but any grains can be used like farro, quinoa or brown rice. Any kind of tomato will work well too, just remember to cut them up in bite size pieces if using a big tomato. Any kind of protein will make this a complete meal. Use like, crumbled bacon, hard-boiled egg, firm tofu or rotisserie chicken.

What you will need:

Makes 1 serving – 1 bowl

A bunch of mizuna leaves

A bunch of fresh, tender carrot tops, stems removed

3 black cherry tomatoes, halved

3 pear tomatoes, halved

1 tbsp. sunflower seeds

3 tbsp. cooked red bulgur wheat

Drizzle of miso-mango-ginger vinaigrette

Instructions:

  1. Cook red bulgur wheat according to package instructions. Any leftover can be stored in a tightly sealed container in the fridge. Use this to make a “make-ahead lunches” or salads or side dish.
  2. Place all ingredients in a bowl with a drizzle of miso-mango-ginger vinaigrette. Mix until well combined and enjoy!

Published by The Spatchcocked KItchen

Hello there! I'm Joanna. I'm a mom of a very active son and a wife who loves to make healthy, wholesome and delicious dishes from scratch. I am a self-taught cook and baker (specially breads.) I am a rebel to traditional foods that I grew up with and using non-traditional ingredients to create my own spin on Filipino dishes.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started